Italy at my doorstep, well almost!

wpid-20141107_115315.jpgGenerally while web surfing, the name Super Sconto had come up a few times in the past. But since I wasn’t really looking for it, I paid little attention. However, on Friday, I was dying for some good coffee but did not feel like driving too far or going one of the regular places close by. That’s when Super Sconto came up again. I vaguely remembered that it was an Italian place, and Italians have one of the best coffees!

Super Sconto3So I set-off to try this place. Located on Louis Botha avenue – most Jozi people like to steer clear of this area for their usual reasons – but I drive through this place on a regular basis. Super Sconto is actually a deli cum Italian supermarket, with secure parking. I reached just before 11am, and there were a few people in the deli. However, by the time I left, it was bustling with lunchtime diners and the parking was full! Clearly its a hot favourite even on weekdays.

The supermarket is located on the ground floor and sells everything from olive oil, different varieties of dry and frozen pasta, dips and sauces, bottles of sun-dried tomatoes, artichokes, Italian cookies and an array of other imported goodies. You can also buy all kinds of cheese, cold cuts, olives and fresh bread here. It’s a one-stop shop for all things Italian.

Super Sconto2wpid-20141107_121717.jpgThe deli on the first floor serves fresh, home-made Italian. Have a freshly made panini or ciabatta with fillings like parma & cheese, turkey, salame, tuna, etc. If you want something hot, try some baked pasta or one of their grills. Don’t forget to look at their specials board!

Since I wasn’t very hungry, I just had a parma and cheese panini with a great cup of cappuccino. I will be going back for some pasta  as it looked delish.

(click below for a slideshow)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Information:

Address: 169 – 171 Louis Botha Avenue

Opening hours: Mon-Fri 8:30am-5:00pm

Sat 8:30am-2:30pm

Sun 8:30am-12:30pm

 

4 thoughts on “Italy at my doorstep, well almost!

Leave a Reply

